André Marin: Address by André Marin for the 2008 FCO Annual General Meeting

“The Ombudsman Renaissance”

Address by André Marin
President, Forum of Canadian Ombudsman

FCO Annual General Meeting
Quebec City, Quebec
September 9, 2008

  • Welcome to the Forum of Canadian Ombudsman’s Annual General Meeting – bienvenue. First and foremost, I want to thank Quebec’s Protectrice du citoyen, my colleague and friend Raymonde St-Germain, for her hospitality.
  • It’s always wonderful to visit Quebec City, but especially in this milestone year. Here we are in a city that is celebrating its 400th anniversary – and we are just about to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the institution of the Ombudsman as we know it.
  • It’s quite amazing to think that when the world’s first truly independent ombudsman was created in Sweden in 1809, this beautiful city of Quebec was already more than 200 years old. It’s even more amazing to think that it took another 170 years or so before the ombudsman tradition really caught on in this country. But when that happened, there was no stopping it. Starting in the mid-1970s, ombudsmen sprung up in a couple of provinces and gradually started blossoming everywhere – until they spread through every level of government and all sorts of other institutions, both public and private.
  • There is no doubt today that the ombudsman is a necessary fact of modern life and modern democracy. The ombudsman is a voice for the people – or as they say here in Quebec, the “protecteur du citoyen,” the citizen’s protector – which is what the Swedish word “ombudsman” means. We are the voice for the average person and their best access to the corridors of power, be they the corridors of government, academia or the business world.
  • But it’s also amazing to consider that even with that blossoming of ombudsmen in the “flower power” era, it wasn’t until the 21st century that all of us came together under the umbrella of the FCO – joining the legislative and parliamentary ombudsmen, the public and the private sectors, the big offices and the small into one big organization where we can all benefit from one another’s strengths and expertise.
  • In my short time as president so far, I’ve been struck by the fact that we are now witnessing a whole new blossoming of the ombudsman concept across this country. You could call it a renaissance or a revolution, but it’s really more like an evolution – as all of us have learned how to grow and adapt dramatically in recent years.
  • Our evolution has brought us to what I think is, frankly, a golden age for ombudsmen in Canada. It’s a gratifying time to be an ombudsman, not to mention to be head of the FCO.
  • Just about anywhere you go in the country these days, you will hear about an ombudsman doing a special investigation, or releasing a special report. Governments and other institutions, like universities and corporations, have understood for some time now that appointing an ombudsman is an important component of their accountability and credibility.
  • In the past, they might have created an ombudsman because it was trendy or because they wanted to create the appearance of being open to public complaints. In that case, the ombudsman would be little more than a figurehead, and his or her function would be more about calming the waters and serving as a safety valve for the institution. But more and more, as the public becomes aware of our work and the kind of accountability we can achieve, those institutions understand that an ombudsman’s job isn’t to shield the officials of the institution he or she oversees, it’s to amplify the concerns of stakeholders and make sure they are heard.
  • As I’ve said for years, it’s about being a watchdog, not a lapdog. And the dogs are definitely out now.
  • In my world of the classical legislative ombudsman, there has been an astonishing blossoming of activity lately.
  • Starting in British Columbia, the Ombudsman is doing a special investigation into long-term care, just as we are doing in Ontario, and it’s hard to think of another single issue that is more important to people today. B.C.’s Ombudsman also did a special investigation into the quality of drinking water, and before that, she and her staff looked at the lotteries, as we also did in Ontario.
  • In Saskatchewan, the Ombudsman just completed a special review of a proposal to use Tasers in men’s jails. In Manitoba, the Ombudsman did a special report on water stewardship and damage that was being caused to rural properties because of irresponsible drainage. She also looked at problems with putting youths into holding cells. Similarly, in New Brunswick, the Ombudsman released a special report on a young person who died in jail, and exposed the systemic failings of correctional facilities to deal with young and disabled people.
  • In Quebec, the Protectrice touched on an issue that I wish I had the mandate to tackle in Ontario – C. difficile bacterial infections in hospitals. In Newfoundland, the Citizen’s Representative has gotten involved in problems with jails as well, and he also fired a shot across the bow of the Atlantic Lottery Corporation. Meanwhile, at the federal level, there are a number of new ombudsmen and they’re doing special investigations, too – the new veterans’ ombudsman jumped right into an investigation of the number of homeless veterans, while the new crime victims’ ombudsman is looking into systemic problems with the national parole system.
  • That is an impressive list, and it doesn’t begin to cover everyone – I didn’t even get to our colleagues in other types of ombudsman offices. But that proves my point – there is so much going on in the ombudsman world right now, it’s hard to even summarize it all. And that’s exactly the way it should be.
  • The point is that we have evolved into 21st-century ombudsmen and are making ourselves heard. We have grasped that in this world of 24-hour news cycles and blogs and YouTube and interactive everything, anyone who simply sits quietly and waits for the public to come to them is in danger of being completely lost. You can’t be the citizen’s protector if the citizens have never heard of you. In other words, it’s great that we have a lot of watchdogs, but they still have to bark!
  • The other reason this is a golden age for ombudsmen is that the public desire for accountability in their institutions has never been higher. Just look at the headlines from the past few weeks in Ontario alone – we’ve had problems with C. difficile in hospitals as I said; we had a massive propane explosion in the middle of a suburban neighbourhood, and now we have people dying from tainted cold cuts. There are similar concerns across the country. People understandably want to know what went wrong and who’s being held to account.
  • And with all due respect to all our politicians, I think most people are looking for solutions that transcend the partisan political world. They want to be able to trust in their institutions, no matter who’s in power. That’s where ombudsmen show their real value as protectors of the citizen, in more ways than one.
  • By being more active and doing more special investigations, we demonstrate our value to the public. We help taxpayers and consumers feel confident that they aren’t being ripped off, or at least that they have some recourse if they are. That’s important at a time when the economic news is not so good.
  • For me, this evolution began when something called the Special Ombudsman Response Team, or SORT for short, was created at the military ombudsman office, which we set up in the mid-1990s. The SORT concept, as most of you know, is now key to our work at the Office of the Ontario Ombudsman. SORT investigations involve high-profile, systemic issues that have the potential to affect large numbers of people – and they work. Our SORT investigations in Ontario have improved everything from newborn screening to the lottery system, affecting millions of people. What started as a way to put the unknown military ombudsman’s office on the map has turned out to be an excellent model for a time when the high demand for government accountability is tempered by an equally high demand for efficiency.
  • After all, the public loves watchdogs but hates wasting money on the proverbial “layers of bureaucracy.” So if you are going to deploy resources as someone who listens to the voice of the people – whether you are in the public or private sector – you had better deliver value.
  • What all of this means is that we’re seeing a ripple effect through ombudsman offices, big and small. These kinds of investigations have truly been infectious, catching on through all provinces, further raising the bar in our profession. We saw this first-hand at my Office last year, when the Canadian Council of Parliamentary Ombudsman asked us to conduct a training course on our SORT techniques. The first course was full, with 50 participants from across Canada and around the world, and later this month we’re doing it again, with 60 participants. That training is already bearing fruit in some of the investigations I just mentioned. I and my staff have also been invited elsewhere to demonstrate SORT’s techniques – in the past few months alone, we have been to Bermuda, Hong Kong and Minnesota, and next month we are going to South Africa. In each case, we were invited by other ombudsmen who are eager to emulate the SORT model in their work.
  • Sometimes I feel a bit like a travelling evangelist for special ombudsman investigations, spreading the good news around the country and the world. But it is good news. The FCO is part of that – we help each other by sharing our expertise, and we encourage one another to move outside our comfort zone and take on the tough, important issues.
  • I know all of you are dedicated to that vision of the FCO and have worked hard this past year on our events. Next year is going to be even more exciting, with the Super Conference back here in la belle province next spring. If you have any ideas for workshops and speakers to make that conference even more befitting of the 200-year renaissance of the ombudsman, now’s the time to speak up and get involved. Meanwhile, next week in Winnipeg, the next FCO training event gets underway for those who specialize in corrections issues – as I mentioned, a lot of excellent work has been done in several provinces this year involving our jails, so that should be a very enlightening workshop.
  • For now, it’s time to get down to the business of our AGM, but I hope I’ve given you something to think about as we move ahead to 2009. It really is a great time to be an ombudsman, and that means it’s a fantastic time to be an active member of the FCO.
Forum of Canadian Ombudsman

André Marin: Address by André Marin for the 2008 FCO Annual General Meeting

« La renaissance de l’Ombudsman »

Allocution d’André Marin Président,
Forum canadien des Ombudsmans

Assemblée générale annuelle
du FCO Ville de Québec (Québec)
9 septembre 2008

  • Bienvenue à l’assemblée générale annuelle du Forum canadien des Ombudsmans. Welcome. J’aimerais tout d’abord remercier la Protectrice du citoyen du Québec, ma collègue et amie Raymonde St-Germain, pour nous avoir si bien accueilli pour notre rencontre annuelle.
  • C’est toujours merveilleux de visiter la Ville de Québec, mais le plaisir est d’autant plus grand en cette année charnière. Nous sommes rassemblés dans une ville qui célèbre son 400e anniversaire – et nous nous préparons à fêter le 200e anniversaire de la création de la fonction d’ombudsman, telle que nous la connaissons actuellement.
  • Il est étonnant de constater que, lorsque le tout premier ombudsman vraiment indépendant a été mis en place en Suède en 1809, cette belle Ville de Québec avait déjà plus de 200 ans. Il est encore plus étonnant de réaliser qu’il a fallu attendre quelque170 années pour que la tradition de l’ombudsman prenne vraiment racine dans notre pays. Mais quand elle l’a fait, plus rien n’a pu l’arrêter. À partir du milieu des années 1970, les ombudsmen sont apparus dans quelques provinces puis se sont multipliés graduellement un peu partout – jusqu’à parvenir à tous les paliers de gouvernement et à toutes sortes d’institutions, aussi bien publiques que privées.
  • De nos jours, il ne fait aucun doute que l’ombudsman est un personnage indispensable de la vie moderne et de la démocratie moderne. L’ombudsman est la voix du peuple – ou comme on le dit ici au Québec, c’est le « protecteur du citoyen » – et cette expression est la traduction fidèle du mot suédois ” ombudsman “. Nous sommes la voix du citoyen moyen et nous représentons son meilleur accès aux corridors du pouvoir – qu’il s’agisse des corridors du gouvernement, du monde universitaire ou du secteur des affaires.
  • Mais il est étonnant aussi de voir que, même s’il y a eu éclosion du concept de l’ombudsman dans les années 1970, à l’époque du mouvement du Flower Power, ce n’est qu’au 21e siècle que nous nous sommes tous regroupés sous un même organisme-ombrelle, le FCO – rassemblant les ombudsmen législatifs et parlementaires, ceux des secteurs public et privé, ceux des grandes et des petites entreprises, en une vaste organisation qui nous permet d’unir nos forces et nos connaissances.
  • Je suis président de cet organisme depuis peu de temps, mais je suis déjà frappé de voir que nous assistons maintenant à un épanouissement tout nouveau du concept d’ombudsman dans notre pays. On pourrait parler de renaissance, ou de révolution, mais en réalité c’est plutôt une évolution – car nous avons tous formidablement appris à grandir et à nous adapter au cours des dernières années.
  • Franchement, je crois que cette évolution nous a amenés à l’âge d’or de l’ombudsman au Canada. C’est une splendide époque pour être ombudsman, et bien sûr pour être président du FCO.
  • Un peu partout au Canada, de nos jours, on entend parler d’une enquête spéciale d’un ombudsman, ou de la parution d’un rapport spécial d’un ombudsman. Les gouvernements et les autres institutions, comme les universités et les entreprises, ont compris il y a quelque temps déjà qu’un ombudsman est un élément crucial de leur redevabilité et de leur crédibilité.
  • Auparavant, certains créaient un poste d’ombudsman parce qu’ils considéraient que c’était à la mode, ou parce qu’ils voulaient paraître ouverts aux plaintes du public. Dans ces cas-là, l’ombudsman n’était bien souvent qu’une figure emblématique et son rôle était de calmer les situations, car il servait en quelque sorte de soupape de sécurité à l’institution. Mais de plus en plus, alors que le public découvre notre travail et la responsabilisation que nous parvenons à exiger, ces institutions comprennent que la mission d’un ombudsman n’est pas de protéger leurs dirigeants, mais d’amplifier les préoccupations des intervenants et de les faire entendre.
  • Comme je le dis depuis des années, un ombudsman est un chien de garde – pas un chien de compagnie – et les chiens sont à coup sûr de sortie, maintenant.
  • Dans mon secteur, qui est celui de l’ombudsman législatif classique, il y a eu une floraison exceptionnelle d’activités ces derniers temps.
  • Commençons par la Colombie-Britannique, où l’Ombudsman effectue une enquête spéciale sur les soins de longue durée, tout comme nous le faisons en Ontario sur ce sujet particulièrement brûlant. L’Ombudsman de la Colombie-Britannique a aussi mené une enquête spéciale sur la qualité de l’eau potable, et auparavant, elle et son personnel se sont penchés sur les loteries – tout comme nous l’avons fait en Ontario.
  • En Saskatchewan, l’Ombudsman vient de terminer un examen spécial d’une proposition d’utilisation des Tasers dans les prisons pour hommes. Au Manitoba, l’Ombudsman a fait un rapport spécial sur la gérance de l’eau et sur les dommages causés aux propriétés rurales par un drainage irresponsable. Elle a aussi étudié les problèmes qui surviennent quand on place des jeunes en cellule de détention provisoire. Au Nouveau-Brunswick, l’Ombudsman a publié un rapport spécial sur une jeune personne morte en prison et a exposé les failles systémiques des établissements correctionnels quand ils ont affaire aux jeunes et aux personnes handicapées.
  • Au Québec, la Protectrice s’est penchée sur une question à laquelle j’aimerais pouvoir m’attaquer en Ontario – à savoir, les infections causées par la bactérie C. difficile dans les hôpitaux. À Terre-Neuve, le Représentant des citoyens s’en est pris lui aussi aux problèmes dans les prisons, et il a également décoché une flèche à l’Atlantic Lottery Corporation. Entre-temps, au niveau fédéral, plusieurs nouveaux ombudsmen mènent des enquêtes spéciales – l’Ombudsman des vétérans a immédiatement déclenché une enquête sur le nombre d’anciens combattants sans domicile, tandis que le nouvel Ombudsman des victimes d’actes criminels examine les problèmes systémiques du Régime national de libération conditionnelle.
  • Bien qu’incomplète, cette liste est impressionnante – je n’ai même pas commencé à parler de nos collègues des autres types de bureau d’ombudsman. Mais j’ai prouvé ce que je veux montrer : il y a tant d’activités dans le monde des ombudsmen de nos jours qu’il est difficile de les résumer. Et c’est parfait.
  • Nous avons véritablement évolué pour devenir des ombudsmen du 21e siècle et nous réussissons à nous faire entendre. Nous avons compris que, dans ce monde où les nouvelles circulent 24 heures sur 24, avec tous ces blogues, toute cette interactivité et toute la présence de YouTube, quiconque se contente d’attendre tranquillement que le public vienne à lui est menacé de disparaître. On ne peut pas être le protecteur des citoyens si les citoyens n’ont jamais entendu parler de nous. En d’autres mots, c’est merveilleux d’avoir beaucoup de chiens de garde, mais encore faut-il qu’ils aboient!
  • L’autre raison de l’âge d’or des ombudsmen, c’est que le désir du public pour la redevabilité de ses institutions n’a jamais été aussi grand. Il suffit de jeter un coup d’oeil aux manchettes des dernières semaines, rien qu’en Ontario – nous avons eu des problèmes de C. difficile dans les hôpitaux, comme je l’ai mentionné; nous avons eu aussi une explosion massive de propane au beau milieu d’un quartier de banlieue; et maintenant, nous avons des gens qui meurent à cause de viandes froides avariées. Partout au pays, les gens vivent les mêmes inquiétudes. Bien sûr, ils veulent savoir d’où vient le problème et qui en est responsable.
  • Avec tout le respect que je dois à nos politiciens, je crois que la plupart des gens cherchent des solutions qui transcendent la partisanerie politique. Ils veulent pouvoir faire confiance à leurs institutions, peu importe qui est au pouvoir. Et c’est là que les ombudsmen montrent à bien des égards la valeur de leur rôle en tant que protecteurs des citoyens.
  • En redoublant d’activités et en multipliant nos enquêtes spéciales, nous prouvons notre valeur au public. Nous aidons les contribuables et les consommateurs à avoir confiance et à savoir qu’ils ne se font pas arnaquer, ou au moins nous leur offrons un recours en cas d’arnaque. C’est d’autant plus important maintenant que les nouvelles économiques ne sont pas très bonnes.
  • Pour moi, toute cette évolution a commencé avec la création d’une Équipe d’intervention spéciale de l’Ombudsman, ou EISO, au bureau de l’Ombudsman de la Défense nationale qui a été créé au milieu des années 1990. Comme vous le savez sans doute, ce concept d’équipe d’enquête est maintenant un élément essentiel de notre travail au Bureau de l’Ombudsman de l’Ontario. Les enquêtes de l’EISO portent sur des questions systémiques, très en vue, qui peuvent toucher bien des gens. Elles donnent d’excellents résultats. Les enquêtes de notre EISO en Ontario ont mené à des améliorations dans à peu près tous les domaines, allant du dépistage des maladies chez les nouveau-nés au système de loteries – questions qui comptent pour des millions de gens. Un concept élaboré pour faire connaître le bureau de l’Ombudsman militaire, dont personne n’avait jamais entendu parler, s’est avéré un excellent modèle pour notre époque, où la forte demande de redevabilité gouvernementale est tempérée par une demande toute aussi forte d’efficacité d’action.
  • Après tout, le public adore les chiens de garde, mais il déteste gaspiller de l’argent sur les multiples niveaux de bureaucratie. Alors, quand vous faites usage des ressources en tant que protecteur du citoyen – dans le secteur public tout comme dans le secteur privé – vous avez intérêt à en donner aux gens pour leur argent.
  • En conclusion, nous assistons à un effet de ricochet dans tous les bureaux d’ombudsman, grands et petits. Nous l’avons constaté concrètement à mon Bureau l’an dernier, quand le Conseil canadien des ombudsmans parlementaires nous a demandé de donner un cours de formation sur les techniques d’enquête de notre EISO. Le premier cours a affiché complet, avec 50 participants venus de partout au Canada et d’ailleurs dans le monde. Un peu plus tard ce mois-ci, nous allons redonner ce cours, cette fois à 60 participants. Cette formation porte déjà ses fruits dans certaines des enquêtes que j’ai mentionnées. De plus, mon personnel et moi-même avons été invités à démontrer les techniques de l’EISO dans plusieurs pays – rien qu’au cours des derniers mois, nous nous sommes rendus aux Bermudes, à Hong Kong et dans le Minnesota. Le mois prochain, nous partons pour l’Afrique du Sud. Chaque fois, nous avons été invités par des ombudsmen qui s’intéressent à l’application du modèle de l’EISO à leur travail.
  • Parfois, j’ai un peu l’impression d’être un évangéliste qui sillonne les routes pour faire connaître la bonne parole au sujet des enquêtes spéciales de l’ombudsman, un peu partout au Canada et dans le monde. Et c’est vrai que les nouvelles sont bonnes pour nous! Le FCO contribue à ces progrès – avec lui, nous nous aidons les uns les autres, en partageant notre expérience et nos connaissances. Et nous nous encourageons à nous attaquer à des problèmes importants, mais durs, sans nous complaire dans la facilité.
  • Vous êtes tous dévoués à cette vision du FCO, je le sais, et vous avez beaucoup travaillé cette année à nos divers événements. L’an prochain sera encore plus stimulant, avec notre retour dans cette belle province au printemps pour notre Super Conférence. Si vous avez des idées d’ateliers ou de conférenciers pour rendre l’événement digne d’une renaissance de l’ombudsman après 200 ans, communiquez-les et participez! Entre-temps, la semaine prochaine à Winnipeg, la prochaine session de formation du FCO commence pour celles et ceux qui se spécialisent dans le secteur correctionnel. Comme je l’ai mentionné, un excellent travail a été fait dans plusieurs provinces cette année à propos de nos prisons et cet atelier devrait donc présenter énormément d’intérêt.
  • Mais il est temps de passer à notre AGA, et je vais donc conclure. Mais j’espère vous avoir donné matière à réflexion alors que 2009 se pointe à l’horizon. C’est véritablement une époque exceptionnelle pour être ombudsman, et donc une époque passionnante pour être activement membre du FCO.
Forum of Canadian Ombudsman-FR