The Quebec Ombudsman: his Role, His Power, His Action

LEGISLATIVE AND JURISPRUDENTIAL FOUNDATIONS, PARALLEL TO THE OMBUDSMAN OF ONTARIO

Jean-Claude Paquet,
Legal Counsel of the Quebec Ombudsman

  1. The independence in the role of the Ombudsman or Public Protector

    • A role created by the National Assembly, is part of the parliamentary power;
    • Led by an independent public official, appointed by the National Assembly, to which he exclusively reports;
    • The Public Protector appoints his own staff;
    • See:
      • Public Protector Act, c. P-32, ss. 1-11 (the PPA);
      • Ontario Ombudsman Act, c. O.6 (hereinafter, the Ontario Act) s. 2-11;
      • British Columbia Development Corporation v. Friedmann (Ombudsman) [1984] 2 S.C.R. 447, pp. 450-462;
      • Brun et Tremblay, pp. 693-698.
  2. His role: to monitor and correct errors and injustices

    • Some history and political science (Friedmann, pp. 458-467);
    • “remedial” nature of the PPA, an act which is “favourable,” subject to a directive of broad interpretation (Friedmann, P.-A. Côté);
    • section 13, PPA: the Public Protector intervenes:
      • “whenever he has reasonable cause to believe that a person or group of persons has suffered or may very likely suffer prejudice as the result of an act or omission of a public body”
      • “on his own initiative or at the request of any person;”
    • Ontario Act, s. 14: the Ombudsman investigates: “any decision or recommendation made or any act done or omitted in the course of the administration of a governmental organization and affecting any person or body of persons in his, her or its personal capacity.”
  3. His power: intervention, investigation, access to documents

    • Jurisdiction over the “public bodies” of the Government of Quebec (ss. 14-17, PPA);
    • Ontario Act, ss. 1 and 14: jurisdiction over “governmental organizations;”
    • accessibility: free, without any red tape, assistance from staff (s. 21, PPA);
    • when he intervenes, he invites the public body to “be heard,” that is, to give the necessary information and provide its point of view and “where appropriate, shall invite it to remedy the prejudicial situation” (s. 23, PPA); Ontario Act, s. 18(1), (2) and (4);
    • “intervention by the Public Protector shall be in private,” both with the government and with regard to the citizen (s. 24, PPA); Ontario Act, s. 18(2);
    • the intervention may include an investigation (s. 24, PPA); Ontario Act, s. 19;
    • pursuant to his power as inquiry commissioner, the Public Protector may require any document, information or file held by the public body and obtain answers to all of his questions (s. 25, PPA and the Act Respecting Public Inquiry Commissions; s. 171, the Act Respecting Access to Documents Held by Public Bodies and the Protection of Personal Information, the AAI); the Ontario Act, s. 19;
    • with respect to interventions, he does not have to use the application procedure for access to documents set out in the Act Respecting Access (s. 171, AAI).
  4. His action: beyond what is strictly legal, based on fairness and reasonableness

    • 4.1 Nature of his action

    • One of the [Translation] “great critics of the government” (Patrice Garant), he is [Translation] “neither a parliamentarian nor a minister nor a judge, but merely a citizen…whose powers of inquiry and recommendation have been acknowledged legislatively, institutionalized and organized in a new way” (Louis Marceau, first Public Protector);
    • He does not possess coercive power and thus cannot force a public body to right a wrong;
    • He does not exercise judicial control, but does exercise [Translation] “a control over the exercising of the executive role which differs from the traditional parliamentarian approach, likely to satisfy the grievances of isolated individuals” (Brun et Tremblay, Droit constitutionnel, p. 698);
    • His sole power is to recommend. He acts by persuasion, exercising a [Translation] “power of persuasion” (Patrice Garant);
    • [Translation] “situations likely to justify his intervention fall into two categories: strictly legal behaviour of the governmental authority (violation of the law, error of law or of fact, discrimination, abuse of discretionary power) and the more flexible concept of fairness in governmental action and more specifically expresses the Public Protector’s mission (unreasonable, unfair or arbitrary behaviour of the governmental authority.” (Issalys, Lemieux, p. 291);
      with regard to the grounds for intervention, see s. 26.1, PPA; Ontario Act, s. 21
    • The concept of fairness: Fairness is [Translation] “built on the natural feeling of what is fair and not substantive enforceable standards.” The Mediator of the French Republic defined it as follows:
      • [Translation] a remedy for written legislation where its application results in clearly disproportionate consequences. It is also a supplement which allows gaps in the legislation and regulations to be filled when a specific case has not been provided for in the legislation. A standard of natural justice applied to a specific situation, fairness allows the impact of the legislation to be generally adapted to the complexity of the circumstances and the singularity of the concrete situation.” (Taken from, “L’argument de l’équité,” http://www.médiateur-de-la-république.fr/médiateur/role/equite.htm)
    • From 1998-2000, the Quebec Ombudsman has benefited from two significant legislative instruments to support his action. They have codified the principles of procedural fairness, i.e. “duty to act fairly,” as well as established the concepts of governmental transparency, accessibility and quality of services-principles and concepts recorded since 1994 in his “Social Contract” (http://www.ombuds.gouv.qc.ca/en/mandat/pacte/htm);
    • In 1998, the Act Respecting Administrative Justice (R.S.Q., c. J – 3) incorporated into the Quebec legislation, the “duty to act fairly,” and recorded the main rules of procedural fairness, rendering the AAJ the fundamental Act for administrative justice, and resulting in all Quebec legislation being reviewed in order to conform to it;
    • The Public Administration Act (S.Q. 2000, c. 8) sets out the “results-based management framework centred on transparency” and requires that “a department or body that provides services directly to the public shall publish a service statement setting out its objectives with regard to the level and quality of the services provided.” This statement shall mainly specify the time frame within which services are to be provided and give clear information on their nature and accessibility.
      • 4.3 The different means of action

    • The Public Protector uses notices, recommendations or reports (Division VI, ss. 26-29, PPA); Ontario Act, s. 21(3), (4) and (5);
    • notices
    • where the Public Protector is of the opinion that no prejudicial situation exists or that the prejudicial situation brought to his attention has not been adequately remedied, he shall promptly notify the interested parties, citizen and public body (s. 26, PPA); Ontario Act, s. 22 (1);
    • the Public Prosecutor notifies in writing the chief executive officer of a public body every time he is of opinion that this public body:
      • compliance with the law:

        • “has not complied with the law” (s. 26.1(1), PPA);
        • “in the exercise of discretionary power, has acted for an unjust purpose, has been actuated by irrelevant motives or has failed to give reasons for its or his discretionary act when it or he should have done so” (s. 26.1(5), PPA);
        • “has committed an error of law or of fact” (s. 26.1(4), PPA);
      • fair and reasonable governmental action:
        • “has acted in an unreasonable, unjust, arbitrary or discriminatory manner” (s. 26.1(2), PPA);

        • “has failed in its or his duty or has been guilty of misconduct or negligence” (s. 26.1(3), PPA);
      • see the equivalent provision for Ontario: Ontario Act, s. 21;
    • recommendations:
      • he may add any recommendation he deems useful and ask to be informed of the measures taken to remedy the prejudicial situation (s. 26.2, PPA); Ontario Act, s. 21(3);
    • written reports:

      • after making a recommendation to a public body, and where no satisfactory measure has been taken within a reasonable time to adequately remedy the situation, the Public Protector may (Ontario Act, s. 21(4)):

        • notify the government in writing (s. 27, PPA); or

        • relate the case in a special report or in his annual report; (s. 27, PPA);
        • in his annual report (Ontario Act, s. 11) to the National Assembly, the Public Protector shall:

          • set out the case in respect whereof he has made a recommendation or issued a notice (s. 28, PPA);
          • where such is the case, set out the corrective measures taken by the authority concerned (s. 28, PPA);
          • transmit a summary report stating the number, nature and outcome of all interventions for each public body; (s. 27.2, PPA);
    • public comments – the Public Protector may also, where he deems it to be in the public interest, comment publicly on a report he has submitted to the National Assembly or on any past intervention or even on any intervention in progress (s. 27.4, PPA); Ontario Act, s. 22(1).
  5. Circumstances in which the Public Protector may or must refuse to intervene

    • He cannot intervene:
      • where the person affected by the intervention “has a legal remedy that can adequately correct the prejudicial situation within a reasonable time”; Ontario Act, s. 17(4); the Public Protector, not the public body, has discretion to determine whether there is a “legal remedy” and whether it is adequate (ss. 18(1) and (2) PPA);
      • in respect of a public body or a person who or which, in the particular case, is bound to act judicially (s. 18(3) PPA), which includes the jurisdictional function of the government; however, he retains jurisdiction over the administrative aspects of the public body; Ontario Act, s. 13(a);
      • in the course of labour relations with the person whose interests are affected (s. 18(5) PPA);
    • he shall refuse to intervene:
      • where a remedy exercised in a court of law by a person affected by the intervention pertains to the facts on which the intervention is based (s. 19 PPA); Ontario Act, s. 14(a);

      • where more than one year has elapsed since the person affected had knowledge of the facts on which the intervention is based, unless he considers that the circumstances are exceptional (s. 19 PPA); Ontario Act, s. 17(1)(a);
    • he can refuse to intervene:

      • where the person refuses or neglects to furnish the necessary information (s. 19.1 PPA);

      • where the application for intervention is frivolous, vexatious or made in bad faith (s. 19.1 PPA); Ontario Act, a. 17(2)(a);
      • where, in his opinion, an intervention is not expedient in view of the circumstances (s. 19.1 PPA); Ontario Act, s. 17(1)(b).
  6. Scrutiny of legislation and intervention in the system

    • Scrutiny of legislation – The Public Protector examines bills and draft regulations, analyzes them to identify their administrative, economic or social repercussions or the effects that are prejudicial to the public. He can communicate directly with the National Assembly or the government, by brief or letter, to propose amendments to improve a bill and prevent “harm” to citizens;

    • Interventions in the system – The Public Protector may, in order to remedy prejudicial situations he has noted, call to the attention of a chief executive officer or the government such legislative, regulatory or administrative reforms as he deems to be in the public interest (s. 27.3 PPA); [Ontario Act, s. 22(3), (4) and (5)]. These interventions can lead to legislative and social changes (e.g. the sharing of housing for social assistance recipients in Quebec) or the remedying of serious injustices, over and above the strictly legal obligations of the government (e.g. compensation for the Duplessis orphans).
  7. Other relevant provisions

    • The Public Protector has immunity from prosecution by reason of official acts done in good faith in the performance of his duties (s. 30 PPA); Ontario Act, s. 24;
    • he is also protected by a full privative clause (ss. 31 and 32 PPA); Ontario Act, s. 23;
    • he is bound, as are his assistant and staff, by obligations of confidentiality (ss. 5, 11, 24, 33 and the oath of confidentiality); Ontario Act, ss. 12 and 18(2);
    • he cannot be compelled to give evidence obtained in the performance of his duties or to produce any document containing such information (s. 34 PPA); Ontario Act, s. 24(2);
    • notwithstanding section 9 of the Act Respecting Access to Documents Held by Public Bodies and the Protection of Personal Information, no person has a right of access to such a document obtained in the course of the Protector’s duties (s. 34 PPA);
    • however, a person affected by nominative information kept on him by the Public Protector has the right to obtain such information; in this case, the restrictions on the right to access in the AAI apply (ss. 83 and 87 AAI);
    • the Public Service Act does not apply to the Protector, his assistant or his staff (s. 36 PPA). However, the Protector has adopted, through policies, the terms and conditions of employment in the public service. The government determines the number of employees and the rates of pay (s. 11 PPA); Ontario Act, s. 8.
  • Reference works:

    • British Columbia Development Corporation v. British Columbia (Ombudsman) [1984] 2 S.C.R., 447, pp. 449-461;
    • BRUN, Henri and TREMBLAY, Guy, Droit constitutionnel, 4th edition, Éditions Yvon Blais, 2001, pp. 693-698.
    • CÔTÉ, Pierre-André, The Interpretation of Legislation in Canada, 3rd edition, Les Éditions Thémis, 1999, pp. 629-633.
    • GARANT, Patrice, Droit administratif, 4th edition, Les Éditions Yvon Blais Inc., Cowansville, 1996, p. 698.
    • ISSALYS, Pierre and LEMIEUX, Denys, L’action gouvernementale – Précis de droit des institutions administratives, 2nd edition, Les Éditions Yvon Blais, Cowansville, 2002, p. 321;
    • MARCEAU, Louis “Le Protecteur du citoyen, les institutions publiques traditionnelles et les tribunaux administratifs”, [1970] Revue du barreau, volume 30, no. 1, p. 67.
    • MOCKLE, Daniel, “Justice administrative et équité”, Revue du Barreau canadien, volume 78, June 1999, p. 146.
Forum of Canadian Ombudsman

The Quebec Ombudsman: his Role, His Power, His Action

Le protecteur du citoyen du Québec, son rôle, son pouvoir, son action fondements legislatifs et jurisprudentiels, parallele avec l’ombudsman de l’Ontario

Jean-Claude Paquet,
Conseiller juridique de la Protectrice du citoyen du Québec

  1. L’indépendance de la fonction d’« Ombudsman », ou Protecteur du citoyen

    • Une fonction créée par l’Assemblée nationale, qui participe du pouvoir parlementaire;
    • dirigée par un officier public indépendant, nommé par l’Assemblée nationale, à qui seule il fait rapport;
    • le Protecteur nomme lui-même son personnel;
    • voir :
      • Loi sur le Protecteur du citoyen, c. P-32, a. 1 à 11 (la LPC);
      • Loi sur l’Ombudsman de l’Ontario, chapitre O.6 (ci-après, Loi de l’Ontario) a. 2 à 11 ;
      • British Columbia Development Corporation et Friedmann, Ombudsman [1984] 2 R.C.S. 447, p. 450 à 462 ;
      • Brun et Tremblay, p. 693 à 698.
  2. Son rôle : prévenir et corriger les erreurs et les injustices

    • Un peu d’histoire et de sciences politiques (Friedmann, p. 458 à 467);
    • nature « réparatrice » de la LPC, une loi dite « favorable »; sujette à une directive d’interprétation large (Friedmann, P.-A. Côté);
    • l’article 13 LPC : le Protecteur du citoyen intervient :
      • chaque fois qu’il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu’une personne ou un groupe de personnes a été lésé ou peut vraisemblablement l’être par l’acte ou l’omission d’un organisme public »
      • « de sa propre initiative ou à la demande de toute personne » ;
    • Loi de l’Ontario, a. 14 : l’ombudsman enquête : « sur les décisions prises, les recommandations formulées, les actions accomplies ou les omissions faites par une organisation gouvernementale dans le cours de ses actions et qui affectent un particulier ou un groupe de particulier à ce titre ».
  3. Ses pouvoirs : intervention, enquête, accès aux documents

    • Compétence sur les « organismes publics » du Gouvernement du Québec (a. 14 à 17 LPC);
    • Loi de l’Ontario, a. 1 et 14 : compétence sur les « organisations gouvernementales » ;
    • accessibilité : gratuit, sans formalisme, assistance par le personnel (art. 21 LPC);
    • lorsqu’il intervient, il invite l’organisme public « à se faire entendre », c’est-à-dire à donner les informations nécessaires et fournir son point de vue, et « s’il y a lieu, à remédier à la situation préjudiciable » (a. 23 LPC); Loi de l’Ontario, a. 18 (1o), (2o) et (4o) ;
    • « l’intervention du Protecteur… est conduite privément », tant auprès de l’Administration qu’en ce qui concerne le citoyen (a. 24 LPC); Loi de l’Ontario, a. 18 (2o) ;
    • l’intervention peut comporter une enquête (a. 24 LPC); Loi de l’Ontario, a. 19 ;
    • en vertu de ses pouvoirs de commissaire enquêteur, le Protecteur peut exiger tout document, renseignement ou dossier détenu par l’organisme et obtenir réponse à toutes ses questions (a. 25 LPC et Loi sur les commissions d’enquête; a. 171 Loi sur l’accès aux documents des organismes publics et sur la protection des renseignements personnels, la LAI); Loi de l’Ontario, a. 19 ;
    • il n’est pas soumis, en ce qui concerne ses interventions, à la procédure de demande d’accès aux documents de la Loi sur l’accès (a. 171, LAI).
  4. Son action : au-delà de la légalité, fondée sur l’équité et la raisonnabilité

    • 4.1 Nature de son action

    • l’un des « grands censeurs de l’Administration » (Patrice Garant), il n’est « ni un parlementaire, ni un ministre, ni un juge, mais tout simplement un citoyen… dont les pouvoirs d’enquête et de recommandation ont été reconnus législativement, institutionnalisés et organisés de façon nouvelle » (Louis Marceau, premier Protecteur du citoyen);
    • il ne possède pas de pouvoir coercitif et ne peut donc forcer un organisme à réparer un tort;
    • il n’exerce pas un contrôle judiciaire, mais « un contrôle de l’exercice de la fonction exécutive différent des voies parlementaires classiques, susceptible de satisfaire les griefs d’individus isolés » (Brun et Tremblay, Droit constitutionnel, p. 698) ;
    • son seul pouvoir est celui de recommander : il agit par la persuasion : il exerce une « magistrature de persuasion » (Patrice Garant) ;
    • « les manquements susceptibles de fonder son intervention sont de deux ordres. Les uns concernent la légalité du comportement de l’autorité administrative (violation de la loi, erreur de droit ou de fait, discrimination, détournement de pouvoir discrétionnaire). Les autres concernent la notion plus souple d’équité dans l’action gouvernementale et expriment de manière plus spécifique la mission du Protecteur (caractère déraisonnable, injuste ou abusif du comportement de l’autorité administrative. » (Issalys, Lemieux, p. 291) ;
    • voir, sur les motifs d’intervention, l’article 26.1 LPC; Loi de l’Ontario, a. 21.
    • la notion d’équité :
      • l’équité est « bâtie autour du sentiment naturel de ce qui est juste et non du droit positif »; le Médiateur de la République française l’a définie comme :

        « un correctif du droit écrit quand l’application de celui-ci entraîne des conséquences manifestement disproportionnées. C’est également un complément permettant de combler les lacunes de la loi et de la réglementation quand un cas précis n’a pas été envisagé par celles-ci. Application d’une norme de justice naturelle à une situation particulière, l’équité permet d’adapter les conséquences de la loi, nécessairement générale, à la complexité des circonstances et à la singularité des situations concrètes. » (Tiré de « L’argument de l’équité », le Médiateur de la République, France http://www.médiateur-de-la-république.fr/médiateur/role/equite.htm)

      • 4.2 Ses principaux « outils »

    • Au Québec, il bénéficie depuis 1998-2000 de deux instruments législatifs d’importance pour appuyer son action, lesquels ont codifié les principes d’équité procédurale, le « duty to act fairly », de même que consacré les notions de transparence de l’Administration, d’accessibilité des services et de qualité de ceux-ci, principes et notions qu’il avait consignés dès 1994 dans son « Pacte social » (http://www.ombuds.gouv.qc.ca/fr/mandat/pacte/htm);
    • la Loi sur la justice administrative (L.R.Q., chap. J-3) a incorporé en 1998, dans la législation québécoise, le « respect du devoir d’agir équitablement » et y a inscrit les grandes règles de l’équité procédurale, faisant de la LJA la loi fondamentale de la justice administrative, et amenant la révision de toutes les lois québécoises pour s’y conformer;
    • la Loi sur l’administration publique (L.Q. 2000, chap. 8) énonce « le respect du principe de la transparence » et oblige ministères et organismes fournissant directement des services aux citoyens à rendre publique « une déclaration contenant ses objectifs quant au niveau des services offerts et quant à la qualité des services » ; cette déclaration doit porter notamment sur la diligence avec laquelle les services devraient être rendus et fournir une information claire sur leur nature et leur accessibilité.
      • 4.3 Les différents modes d’action

    • il procède par avis, recommandations ou rapports (section VI, a. 26 à 29 LPC); Loi de l’Ontario, a. 21 (3o), (4o) et (5o);
    • par avis
      • lorsqu’il est d’avis qu’il n’existe aucune situation préjudiciable ou qu’on y a remédié adéquatement, il en avise les parties intéressées, citoyen et organisme (a. 26 LPC); Loi de l’Ontario, a. 22 (1o);
      • il avise par écrit le dirigeant d’un organisme public chaque fois qu’il estime que cet organisme :
        • légalité du comportement :
          • « ne s’est pas conformé à la loi » (a. 26.1, 1o LPC);
          • « dans l’exercice d’un pouvoir discrétionnaire, a agi dans un but injuste, en se fondant sur des motifs qui ne sont pas pertinents ou en n’en motivant pas l’exercice lorsqu’il devait le faire » (a. 26.1, 5o LPC);
          • « a commis une erreur de droit ou de fait » (a. 26.1, 4o LPC);
        • équité et raisonnabilité dans l’action gouvernementale :
          • « a agi de façon déraisonnable, injuste, abusive ou d’une manière discriminatoire » (a. 26.1, 2o LPC);
          • « a manqué à son devoir ou a fait preuve d’inconduite ou de négligence » (a. 26.1, 3o LPC);
        • voir la disposition équivalente en Ontario : Loi de l’Ontario, a. 21;
    • par recommandation :
      • il peut recommander des mesures correctives à un organisme et requérir d’être informé des mesures prises pour remédier à la situation préjudiciable (a. 26.2 LPC); Loi de l’Ontario, a. 21 (3o);
    • par rapport écrit :
      • après une recommandation à un organisme, et lorsque aucune mesure satisfaisante n’est prise dans un délai raisonnable pour remédier adéquatement à la situation, le Protecteur peut [Loi de l’Ontario, a. 21 (4o)]:
        • en aviser par écrit le gouvernement (a. 27 LPC); ou
        • exposer le cas dans un rapport spécial ou dans son rapport annuel; (a. 27 LPC);
        • dans son rapport annuel (Loi de l’Ontario, a. 11) à l’Assemblée nationale, le Protecteur :
          • expose les cas où il a fait une recommandation ou donné un avis (a. 28 LPC);
          • expose les mesures correctives prises par l’autorité concernée, s’il y a lieu (a. 28 LPC);
          • indique sommairement, pour chaque organisme, le nombre, la nature et l’issue de toute intervention; (a. 27.3 LPC);
    • commentaire public – le Protecteur peut également, lorsqu’il le juge d’intérêt public, commenter publiquement un rapport soumis à l’Assemblée nationale ou une intervention faite, ou même une intervention en cours (a. 27.4 ; LPC) (Loi de l’Ontario, a. 22 (1o).
  5. Circonstances dans lesquelles le Protecteur peut ou doit refuser d’intervenir

    • Il ne peut intervenir :
      • lorsque la personne lésée dispose d’un « recours légal, susceptible de corriger adéquatement et dans un délai raisonnable la situation préjudiciable »; Loi de l’Ontario, a. 17 (4o) ; il ressort de la discrétion du Protecteur, et non de l’organisme, d’apprécier l’existence et la suffisance du « recours légal adéquat » (a. 18 (1o) et (2o) LPC);
      • à l’égard d’un organisme ou d’une personne alors que ceux-ci sont tenus d’agir judiciairement (a. 18 (3o) LPC), ce qui inclut la fonction juridictionnelle de l’Administration ; cependant, il conserve compétence sur les aspects administratifs de l’organisme ; Loi de l’Ontario, a. 13 (a);
      • dans le cadre de relations de travail avec la personne dont les intérêts sont visés (a. 18 (5o) LPC;
    • il doit refuser d’intervenir :
      • lorsqu’un recours exercé devant un tribunal judiciaire, par une personne visée par l’intervention, porte sur les faits fondant l’intervention (a. 19 LPC); Loi de l’Ontario, a. 14 (a);
      • lorsqu’il s’est écoulé plus d’un an depuis que la personne a eu connaissance des faits, à moins de circonstances exceptionnelles qu’il apprécie lui-même (a. 19 LPC) ; Loi de l’Ontario, a. 17 (1o) a);
    • il peut refuser d’intervenir :
      • lorsque la personne refuse ou néglige de fournir les renseignements nécessaires (a. 19.1 LPC);
      • lorsque la demande est frivole, vexatoire ou de mauvaise foi (a. 19.1 LPC); Loi de l’Ontario, a. 17 (2o) a);
      • s’il estime qu’une intervention n’est pas utile eu égard aux circonstances (a. 19.1 LPC) ; Loi de l’Ontario, a. 17 (1o) b).
  6. La veille parlementaire et l’intervention systémique

    • Veille parlementaire – le Protecteur du citoyen prend connaissance des projets de loi et de règlement, procède à leur analyse pour identifier les impacts d’ordre administratif, économique ou social, ou déceler les effets préjudiciables pour le citoyen; il peut intervenir auprès de l’Assemblée nationale ou de l’Administration, par mémoire ou lettre, pour mettre de l’avant des propositions de modifications susceptibles d’améliorer le projet et d’éviter des « lésions » aux citoyens;
    • Interventions d’ordre systémique – le Protecteur peut, en vue de remédier à des situations préjudiciables qu’il a constatées, appeler l’attention d’un dirigeant ou du gouvernement sur des réformes législatives, réglementaires ou administratives, dans l’intérêt général (a. 27.3 LPC) ; [Loi de l’Ontario, a. 22 (3o), (4o) et (5o)] ; de telles interventions peuvent amener des changements législatifs et sociaux (ex. : le partage du logement pour les assistés sociaux au Québec) ou la réparation d’injustices graves, au-delà des strictes obligations légales de l’Administration (exemple : l’indemnisation pour les Orphelins de Duplessis).
  7. Autres dispositions pertinentes

    • Le Protecteur du citoyen bénéficie d’une immunité de poursuite en raison d’actes officiels accomplis de bonne foi dans l’exercice de ses fonctions (a. 30 LPC); Loi de l’Ontario, a. 24;
    • il bénéficie également d’une clause privative complète (a. 31 et 32 LPC); Loi de l’Ontario, a. 23 ;
    • il est assujetti, comme son adjoint et son personnel, à des obligations de confidentialité (a. 5, 11, 24, 33 et serment de confidentialité); Loi de l’Ontario, a. 12 et 18 (2o) ;
    • il ne peut être contraint de témoigner sur un renseignement obtenu dans l’exercice de ses fonctions ni de produire un renseignement contenant un tel renseignement (a. 34 LPC); Loi de l’Ontario, a. 24 (2o);
    • malgré l’article 9 de la Loi sur l’accès, nul n’a droit à un tel document, obtenu dans l’exercice des fonctions du Protecteur (a. 34 LPC);
    • cependant, une personne concernée par un renseignement nominatif qu’il détient à son égard a le droit de recevoir communication de ce renseignement; dans ce cas, les restrictions au droit d’accès de la LAI s’appliquent (a. 83 et 87 Loi sur l’accès);
    • la Loi sur la fonction publique ne s’applique pas au Protecteur, ni à son adjoint ou ses employés (a. 36 LPC); il a cependant adopté, par politiques, les conditions de travail de la fonction publique ; le gouvernement détermine le nombre d’employés et les barèmes de rémunération (a. 11 LPC); Loi de l’Ontario, a.
  • Reference works:

    • British Columbia Development Corporation et Friedmann, Ombudsman [1984] 2 R.C.S., 447, p. 449 à 461;
    • BRUN, Henri et TREMBLAY, Guy, Droit constitutionnel, 4e édition, Éditions Yvon Blais, 2001, p. 693 à 698.
    • CÔTÉ, Pierre-André, Interprétations des lois, 3e édition, Les Éditions Thémis, 1999, p. 629 à 633.
    • GARANT, Patrice, Droit administratif, 4e édition, Les Éditions Yvon Blais Inc., Cowansville, 1996, p. 698.
    • ISSALYS, Pierre et LEMIEUX, Denys, L’action gouvernementale, Précis de droit des institutions administratives, 2e édition, Les Éditions Yvon Blais, Cowansville, 2002, p. 321;
    • MARCEAU, Louis « Le Protecteur du citoyen, les institutions publiques traditionnelles et les tribunaux administratifs », [1970] Revue du barreau, tome 30, no 1, p. 67.
    • MOCKLE, Daniel, Justice administrative et équité, Revue du Barreau canadien, volume 78, juin 1999, p. 146.
Forum of Canadian Ombudsman-FR