What is an Ombudsman?

WHAT IS AN OMBUDSMAN?

Excerpt from the International Ombudsman Institute, Conducting Effective Investigations Workshop, Train-the-Trainer Manual, October 2002

Generally speaking, an Ombudsman is an independent official appointed to receive, investigate and resolve complaints from affected persons about government administration. An Ombudsman’s jurisdiction may be very general extending to all areas of government service and all administrative conduct or it may be specialised; for instance, it may be restricted to consideration of human rights or language issues or to the provision of services by a particular government ministry. An Ombudsman is an impartial investigator with the power to recommend solutions. The Ombudsman’s office is generally a place of last resort that investigates complaints after other statutory rights of recourse have been pursued.

Since the 1980’s there has been a significant expansion in the number of Ombudsman offices globally. There are currently governmental Ombudsman offices in over 100 countries. The number of Ombudsman offices continues to grow as governments recognise the value and importance of this form of oversight of government administration for the purpose of serving the public and improving public service.

The essential and universally recognised features of ombudsmanship include:

  • independence
  • flexibility
  • accessibility
  • credibility

The Ombudsman’s process may be confidential and protected by provisions shielding the Ombudsman and his or her staff and information collected or produced by them from civil action or disclosure orders. However, Ombudsman have the ability to varying degrees to bring matters to the attention of the public. Many Ombudsman have the authority to issue reports publicly and to forward the reports to the Assembly/Parliament for consideration.

Forum of Canadian Ombudsman

What is an Ombudsman?

QU’EST-CE QU’UN OMBUDSMAN?

Extrait de l’Institut international de l’ombudsman, Conducting Effective Investigations Workshop, Train-the-Trainer Manual, octobre 2002

Généralement parlant, un ombudsman est un haut dirigeant indépendant, nommé pour recevoir, étudier et régler des plaintes sur l’administration gouvernementale, provenant de personnes qui connaissent des problèmes avec cette administration. La juridiction d’un ombudsman peut être très générale et s’étendre à tous les aspects des services offerts par le gouvernement et de la conduite des administrateurs, ou elle peut être spécialisée. Ainsi, elle peut se restreindre à considérer les droits de la personne ou les questions de langue, ou encore la prestation des services par un ministère gouvernemental particulier. Un ombudsman est un enquêteur impartial, doté du pouvoir de recommander des solutions. Le bureau d’un ombudsman est généralement un lieu de dernier recours, qui enquête sur les plaintes une fois qu’ont été explorées les autres voies de recours en vertu des droits prévus par la loi.

Depuis les années 1980, le nombre des bureaux de l’ombudsman dans le monde connaît une expansion notable. Actuellement, plus de 100 pays ont des bureaux de l’ombudsman gouvernemental. Le nombre des bureaux de l’ombudsman continue de croître à mesure que les gouvernements reconnaissent la valeur et l’importance de cette forme de surveillance sur l’administration gouvernementale, pour servir le public et pour améliorer la fonction publique.

Les caractéristiques essentielles, universellement reconnues, du rôle de l’ombudsman comprennent :

  • l’indépendance
  • la souplesse
  • l’accessibilité
  • la crédibilité

Le processus de l’ombudsman peut être confidentiel et protégé par des dispositions qui mettent l’ombudsman, son personnel et l’information recueillie ou produite par eux à l’abri de poursuites civiles ou d’ordres de divulgation. Toutefois, les ombudsmans ont la capacité, à différents degrés, de porter des questions à l’attention du public. Bon nombre d’ombudsmans sont en droit de présenter des rapports au public et de faire parvenir ces rapports à l’assemblée ou au parlement, pour considération.

Forum of Canadian Ombudsman-FR