Meet the Board

Meet the Board

Johanne Savard (President)

Ombudsman de Montréal
275, rue Notre-Dame Est
Suite R-100
Montréal (Québec) H2Y 1C6
Telephone: 514 872-8999
Fax: 514 872-2379
Email: ombudsman@ville.montreal.qc.ca

Ms Johanne Savard is a Lawyer and a duly certified Mediator. She has been involved in mediation, arbitration and negotiation for more than 25 years. She is a member of the Québec and Canadian Institutes of Mediation and Arbitration.

After 20+ years in the private practice of law, Ms Savard became, in 2003, the first Ombudsman of Ville de Montréal: her mandate was renewed by unanimous vote of City Council in 2007 and 2011. The OMBUDSMAN DE MONTRÉAL is a legislative ombudsman, independent from the City’s administration and elected officials. She offers a free last resort recourse to citizens who believe they are adversely affected by a decision, action or inaction of Ville de Montréal. Her fair and balanced approach focuses on mediation and collaboration as an effective means to resolve conflict.

Ms Savard is President of the Board of Directors of the FCO (Forum of Canadian Ombudsman) and a Director on the Board of the AOMF (Association des ombudsmans et médiateurs de la francophonie). She is also a member of the International Ombudsmans’ Association and of the International Ombudsmans’ Institute. She often gives conferences and trainings on Alternative Dispute Resolution modes as well as on the role and attributes of ombudsmans mandated to ensure the respect of citizens’ rights through a simple and non-judiciary process.

Nadine Mailloux (Vice President)

Ombudsman
City of Laval
Telephone: (450) 978-3699
Email: n.mailloux@ville.laval.qc.ca

Nadine Mailloux was appointed City of Laval’s Ombudsman in September 2013. She has a law degree and has been a member of the Barreau du Québec since 1999.Nadine is a Certified Mediator of the Barreau du Québec and the Institut de Médiation et d’arbitrage du Québec. She is also a member of the Arbitration and Mediation Institute of Canada.

At the beginning of her career, Nadine practiced civil litigation before becoming ombudsman for the health network of the Régie régionale de la santé et des services sociaux, of a hospital centre and a health and social services centre, both university-affiliated in Montréal. She concentrated most of her professional career on alternative types of conflict resolution.
Nadine is also a pro-bono ombudsman with the organisation The Lighthouse, Children and Families, which provides respite services and help to families with children needing complex health care.

Sandra Morrison (Treasurer)

Staff Ombudsman

Sandra Morrison joined Scotiabank in January of 2004 as Senior Manager, Employee Relations, after spending 17 years as a senior HR Generalist in the automotive manufacturing industry. Sandra became the Staff Ombudsman in April 2007. She leads a team of three Assistant to the Ombudsmans, providing ombuds service to Scotiabank employees globally.

Sandra grew up in Saskatchewan and ventured East to attend Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario. She graduated with an honours BA in psychology and has her CHRP (Certified Human Resources Professional) designation. Sandra is a member of the International Ombudsman Association (IOA) and the Forum of Canadian Ombudsmen (FCO). Sandra is an Associate Editor for the Journal of the International Ombuds Association. She also serves on the Board of Directors for Conservation Halton. In her spare time, Sandra enjoys gardening, photography, hiking and the company of her husband, daughter and two dogs.

Joëlle Thibault (Secretary)

Joëlle is an experienced ombudsperson and mediator with 20 years of recognized experience in effective and fair conflict resolution. She uses her excellent listening skills and highly developed creativity to resolve various conflicts. What sets her apart are her analysis skills to optimize processes and reduce costs. She is also an outstanding educator and coach when it comes to preventing and settling conflicts.

Currently, she is engaged in mandates on mediation, facilitates training in negotiations and conflict resolution and consults on optimization of complaint processes for various organizations. She also holds the position of Employee Ombudsman for Hydro Québec.

Joëlle is an attorney at law since 1989 and holds a diploma of advanced studies in international trade law as well as a Doctor of Law with specialization in alternative dispute resolution from Université Paris II (France). She also completed a certificate of international contract law at Cambridge University (Great Britain).

She articled at the Court of International Arbitration of the Paris International Chamber of Commerce and worked with various arbitrators and mediators in Europe. She held the position of vice-president with eResolution, a company specializing in managing Web-based negotiation, mediation and arbitration services to settle conflicts in the consumption, insurance and business transaction sectors.

With the National Bank of Canada for a 12-year period, she held the positions of ombudsman for clients and vice-president of human resources. During this period, she negotiated a variety of agreements and solved multiple conflicts involving employees and clients.

Lori Ciani

Ombudsman, Complaints Officer, Accessibility Officer
Amex Bank of Canada
Telephone: (647) 297-3262
Email: lori.f.ciani@aexp.com

Lori Ciani is the Ombudsman, Complaints Officer and Accessibility Officer for Amex Bank of Canada / Amex Canada Inc.

Mrs. Ciani has been in the banking industry since 1983 and held varying management positions prior to joining the Ombudsman’s Office at Amex Bank of Canada in 2004. The varying roles and experiences allowed her to develop a vast array of business knowledge, leadership, negotiation and mediation skills.

In her current role, she is responsible for managing the Amex Bank of Canada Ombudsman’s Office, representing the bank on various Canadian Banking Association committees, and managing relationships with the Canadian banking regulator – the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC) and the Ombudsman for Banking Services and Investments (OBSI).

The Amex Bank of Canada Ombudsman’s Office provides customers an impartial intermediary to assist in resolving concerns or issues with bank products or services with a mandate that focuses on reaching fair and appropriate solutions.

Mrs. Ciani is the present co-leader of the SALT employee Network and past co-leader of the Women’s Interest Network at American Express and an active volunteer at her church where she holds a leadership role in their Celebrate Recovery Program. As a veteran in the Ombudsman industry and multi-year member of the Forum of Canadian Ombudsmen, she is very much enjoying being a member of the FCO Board of Directors.

Barbara Finlay

Deputy Ombudsman
Ombudsman Ontario

Guy Parent

Veteran Ombudsman
Telephone: (613) 944-2940
guy.parent@omudsman-veterans.gc.ca

Chief Warrant Officer Guy Parent (retired) was appointed as the second Veterans Ombudsman in November 2010, for a five-year term, which was renewed for an additional three years in 2015. With this latest appointment, he now has been serving Canadians in many military and civil functions for over 50 years.

Following the completion of high school in 1964, he joined the Canadian Forces. He was trained as a Search and Rescue Technician and graduated in 1972 with qualification as Paramedic, Master Parachutist, Master Diver, Mountain Climbing Instructor and Survival Instructor. He went on to serve as a Search and Rescue Technician for the next three decades.

In 1989, he assumed the function of Base Chief Warrant Officer in Summerside, P.E.I. where he was in charge of personnel relations between the base and Air Force headquarters. As part of this assignment, he conducted administrative and internal investigations on behalf of the Base Commander.

Appointed as Chief Warrant Officer of Air Command in 1991, he advised on personnel and quality of life issues. Through frequent public visits to air units, he assessed the impact of policies on members and drafted recommendations to the Commander.

He was appointed again in 1995 as Chief Warrant Officer of the Canadian Forces, which is the highest appointment for a non-commissioned member. In that capacity, he represented 47,000 non-commissioned officers and privates who are, or will soon be, the Veterans of today. At the request of the Governor General, Chief Warrant Officer Parent also served as a member of the Armed Forces Council which provided him with an opportunity to influence doctrine and policy at the strategic level.

In 1999, he was posted to Egypt to serve as Force Sergeant Major of a multi-national force defending the Sinai in accordance with the Camp David Accord. There, he defused conflict situations between military personnel of 14 different countries through mediation and dispute resolution.

After retiring from the Canadian Forces in 2001, Chief Warrant Officer Parent joined the office of the National Defence and Canadian Forces Ombudsman where he assumed increasing responsibilities, first as an investigator and later as Director of Investigations and Director of the Ombudsman Special Response Team.

His vast experience and attention to detail led him to be drafted by the Office of the Veterans Ombudsman in 2008, where he served as Director of Research and Investigations until his appointment as Ombudsman. His experience with Veterans Affairs Canada has allowed him to gain significant knowledge about programs, policies, and procedures related to Veterans and to appreciate the importance of the Veterans Ombudsman mandate.

Chief Warrant Officer Parent is fluent in both official languages and has traveled extensively to Europe, Africa, the Middle East and South America on official Canadian Forces and National Defence business.

He now resides in Gatineau with his wife. They have three sons, three daughters-in-law and seven grandchildren.

W.A. (Bill) Smith

Ombudsman
Province of Nova Scotia
Telephone: 902-424-6780
Email: William.A.Smith@novascotia.ca

Mr. Smith was appointed to the position of Ombudsman on June 1st,2016.

He was born and raised in Sydney, Nova Scotia and began his career with the Royal Canadian Mounted Police in 1979.

Mr. Smith retired from the RCMP in 2012 at the rank of Assistant Commissioner and the position of Commanding Officer of “B” Division (Province of NL) after having served for 33 years with the Force. Over the course of his varied career, Mr. Smith served in 6 different provinces and 7 divisions within the Force. His duties included several years as a general duty member, as well as in units including Major Crimes, Traffic Services/Highway Patrol, First Nations Policing, Finance, Administration, Training, Criminal Operations, and VIP Duties including a posting as the Officer in Charge of Security for then Governor General – His Excellency Romeo LeBlanc.

In February, 2012 Mr. Smith accepted the position of Executive Director of Correctional Services for the Province of Nova Scotia, overseeing both Custodial and Community Corrections for over 4 years.

Mr. Smith has received certificates in General and Advanced Police Studies from the Canadian Police College, a certificate in Criminology from Memorial University of Newfoundland, and a Bachelor of Arts (Major Sociology) from Saint Mary’s University, Halifax. He has also completed the International Police Executive Officers’ Course at Melbourne, Australia, and the Queen’s University Executive Program.

Mr. Smith is a recipient of the Commanding Officer’s Commendation, the RCMP Long Service Medal, RCMP Bronze Clasp, RCMP Silver Clasp, the Queen’s Golden Jubilee Medal, and the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal. He was appointed a Member of the Order of Merit of Police Forces in May, 2009 by then Governor General – Her Excellency Michaëlle Jean, and was awarded the National Defense Medal of France – Gold level in 2011 during a ceremony at St. Pierre et Miquelon.

Nora Farrell (Past-President)

Ombudsperson
Ryerson University Office of the Ombudsman
63 Gould St Rm. 215/216
Toronto, Ontario
M5B 1E9
Telephone: (416) 979-5000 x 7451
Fax: (416) 979-5170
Email: nfarrell@ryerson.ca

Nora has been active in the ombuds field in a number of areas: Ombudsperson for Ryerson University since 2000; Ombudsman for the Canadian Franchise Association and International Franchise Association (on a contract basis) for four years; Manager of Investigations/Complaint Resolution for Ombudsman Ontario for five years.

Nora earned a Ph.D. as well as a LL.M. (Master of Laws degree) from Osgoode Hall Law School at York University and a M.Ed. (Master of Education) in Adult, Administrative and Higher Education from the University of British Columbia. Nora also has extensive training and experience in mediation and in the design and delivery of training in effective conflict resolution. She has been active as a volunteer in the literacy field for many years both as an individual tutor and as a board member and Chair of the Foundation for Frontier College, a national literacy organization.

Secretariat

Email: fco@intertaskconferences.com
Fax: 613-236-2727

Top of Page

Forum of Canadian Ombudsman Forum of Canadian Ombudsman

Membres du Conseil d’administration

Membres du Conseil d’administration

Johanne Savard (Présidente)

Ombudsman de Montréal
275, rue Notre-Dame Est
Bureau R-100
Montréal (Québec) H2Y 1C6
Téléphone : 514 872-8999
Télécopieur : 514 872-2379
ombudsman@ville.montreal.qc.ca

Me Johanne Savard est une avocate et une médiatrice dûment accréditée. Elle possède une expérience de plus de 25 ans en médiation, en négociation et en arbitrage et est membre des Instituts de médiation et d’arbitrage du Québec et du Canada.

Après avoir pratiqué le droit pendant plus de 20 ans, Me Johanne Savard devient, en 2003, le premier ombudsman à la Ville de Montréal : son mandat a été renouvelé à l’unanimité par le Conseil de Ville, en 2007 et en 2011. L’OMBUDSMAN DE MONTRÉAL est un ombudsman législatif, indépendant de l’administration municipale et des élus, qui offre un « dernier recours » facilement accessible et gratuit aux citoyens qui se sentent lésés par une décision, une action, ou une inaction de la Ville de Montréal. Son approche non conflictuelle et de collaboration permet généralement de trouver des solutions efficaces et viables et de régler les différends.

Me Savard est présidente du Conseil d’administration du FCO (Forum canadien des ombudsmans) et elle siège aussi sur le Conseil d’administration de l’AOMF (Association des ombudsmans et médiateurs de la Francophonie). Elle est membre de l’IOA (International Ombudsmans’ Association) et de l’IOI (International Ombudsmans’ Institute).

Me Savard donne fréquemment des formations et conférences sur les Modes alternatifs de résolution des conflits ainsi que sur le rôle et les attributs des ombudsmans chargés d’intervenir, de manière non judiciaire, pour assurer le respect des droits des citoyens.

Nadine Mailloux (Vice-présidente)

Ville de Laval
Téléphone : 450 978-3699
n.mailloux@ville.laval.qc.ca

Me Nadine Mailloux est ombudsman de la Ville de Laval depuis septembre 2013. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en droit et membre du Barreau du Québec depuis 1999. Elle est médiatrice accréditée par le Barreau du Québec et par l’Institut de Médiation et d’arbitrage du Québec et membre de l’Institut d’Arbitrage et de Médiation du Canada.

Me Mailloux a brièvement pratiqué le litige en début de carrière pour devenir par la suite ombudsman dans le réseau de la santé au sein de la Régie régionale de la santé et des services sociaux, d’un centre hospitalier affilié universitaire et d’un centre de santé et de services sociaux affilié universitaire de Montréal. Elle a orienté la majeure partie de sa carrière vers les modes alternatifs de résolution de conflit. Elle est également ombudsman pro-bono au sein du Phare, enfants et familles, un organisme sans but lucratif offrant répit et soutien aux familles d’enfants affligés par une maladie nécessitant des soins complexes.

Sandra Morrison (Trésorier)

Mme Sandra Morrison a joint en 2004 les rangs de la Banque Scotia à titre de gestionnaire principale des relations avec les employés après 17 années passées comme généraliste en relations humaines dans le domaine de la fabrication de véhicules automobiles. Elle est ensuite devenue ombudsman des employés en avril 2007. Assistée dans ses tâches par trois adjoints, elle procure des services de conciliation au personnel de la Banque de par le monde.

Mme Morrison a grandi en Saskatchewan pour mettre plus tard le cap vers l’est afin d’étudier à l’Université Queen’s à Kingston, en Ontario. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat avec distinction en psychologie, et détient le titre professionnel de conseillère en ressources humaines agréée (CRHA). Elle est aussi membre de l’International Ombudsman Association (IOA) et du Forum canadien des ombudsmans (FCO). Mme Morrison assure également des fonctions de rédactrice en chef adjointe au Journal of the International Ombudsman Association. Elle agit en outre en qualité de membre du conseil d’administration de l’organisme de protection de l’environnement Conservation Halton. Dans ses temps libres, Mme Morrison aime bien jardiner, faire de la photographie, pratiquer la randonnée et jouir de la compagnie de son mari, de sa fille et de ses deux chiens.

Joëlle Thibault (Secrétaire)

Joëlle est une ombudsman et médiatrice expérimentée et reconnue depuis 20 ans pour le règlement efficace et équitable des conflits. Elle sait résoudre des dossiers variés grâce à un sens aigu de l’écoute et une grande créativité. Elle se distingue par ses habiletés d’analyse menant à l’optimisation de processus et à la réduction de coûts. Elle est aussi pédagogue et coach hors pair en matière de prévention et règlement des conflits.

Elle effectue présentement des mandats variés de médiation, de formation et d’optimisation de processus de gestion des plaintes au sein d’organisations et agit à titre de Protectrice de la personne pour Hydro-Québec.

Avocate depuis 1989, Joëlle détient un diplôme d’étude approfondie en droit commercial international et un doctorat en droit, spécialisé en règlement amiable des différends de l’Université Paris II (France). Elle a également complété un certificat en droit des contrats internationaux à l’Université de Cambridge (Grande-Bretagne).

Elle a effectué un stage à la Cour internationale d’arbitrage de la Chambre de commerce international à Paris et a travaillé auprès de divers arbitres et médiateurs en Europe. Elle a assuré la vice-présidence de eResolution une entreprise spécialisée en gestion de services de négociation, de médiation et d’arbitrage sur internet pour des conflits liés à la consommation, à l’assurance et aux transactions commerciales.

À la Banque Nationale du Canada pendant 12 ans, elle a travaillé à titre de d’Ombudsman des clients et de vice-présidente pour le secteur des ressources humaines. Dans le cadre de ces fonctions, elle a négocié diverses ententes et résolu de multiples conflits.

Lori Ciani

Deputy Ombudsman, Complaints Officer, Accessibility Officer
Banque Amex du Canada
Téléphone : 647 297-3262
lori.f.ciani@aexp.com

Lori Ciani est ombudsman, responsable des plaintes et agente d’accessibilité à la Banque Amex du Canada/American Express Canada inc.

Mme Ciani travaille dans le secteur des institutions financières depuis 1983, ayant occupé des postes de gestion variés avant d’intégrer le bureau de l’ombudsman de la Banque Amex du Canada, en 2004. Les divers rôles qu’elle a remplis et expériences qu’elle a vécues lui ont permis d’acquérir un vaste éventail de connaissances en affaires, un sens du leadership ainsi que de la compétence en négociation et en médiation.

Dans ses fonctions actuelles, Mme Ciani est responsable de gérer le bureau de l’ombudsman d’Amex Canada, représentant la Banque dans divers comités de l’Association des banquiers canadiens et voyant à la gestion des relations avec l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada (ACFC) — l’organisme canadien de réglementation des institutions financières — et avec l’Ombudsman des services bancaires et d’investissement (OSBI).

Ayant reçu le mandat d’en venir à des solutions justes et appropriées, le bureau de l’ombudsman de la Banque Amex du Canada est l’intermédiaire neutre qui aide les consommateurs à résoudre leurs préoccupations et problèmes concernant des produits bancaires.

Mme Ciani est présentement coresponsable du réseau d’employés chrétiens SALT, ayant aussi codirigé le groupe d’intérêt des femmes d’American Express. Elle est en outre bénévole dans sa paroisse, étant une des responsables du programme « Celebrate Recovery ». Figurant parmi les vétérans de l’industrie des ombudsmans et membre de longue date du Forum canadien des ombudsmans (FCO), Mme Ciani est ravie de devenir membre du conseil d’administration du FCO.

Barbara Finlay

Omubudsman adjointe
Ombudsman Ontario

 

Guy Parent

Ombudsman des vétérans
Téléphone : 613-944-2940
guy.parent@ombudsman-veterans.gc.ca

L’Adjudant-chef à la retraite Guy Parent a été nommé deuxième ombudsman des vétérans pour une période de cinq ans en novembre 2010, un mandat qui a été renouvelé pour trois ans en 2015. Grâce à cette dernière nomination, il compte maintenant plus de 50 ans au service des Canadiens et des Canadiennes dans maintes fonctions militaires et civiles.

À la suite de ses études secondaires en 1964, Guy Parent joint les Forces canadiennes. Il est alors entraîné en tant que technicien en recherche et sauvetage, fonction qu’il occupera pour les trois décennies suivantes.Au moment de sa graduation en 1972, Guy Parent est qualifié en tant que ambulancier paramédical, maître parachutiste, maître plongeur, instructeur d’alpinisme et instructeur de survie.

En 1989, il assume la fonction d’Adjudant-chef de la base à Summerside (Î.-P.-É), où il est en charge des relations entre le personnel de la base et celui du quartier général des Forces aériennes. Dans le cadre de cette affectation, il a mené diverses enquêtes internes et administratives au nom du commandant de la base.

Nommé au poste d’Adjudant-chef du Commandement aérien en 1991, il a agi en tant que conseiller sur les questions liées au personnel et à leur qualité de vie. À travers de nombreuses visites publiques des unités aériennes, il a pu prendre la mesure de l’impact des politiques sur les membres du personnel et ébaucher des recommandations destinées au commandant.

Il est nommé de nouveau en 1995, cette fois au rang d’Adjudant-chef des Forces canadiennes, le grade le plus élevé pour un militaire de rang. À ce titre, il représente 47 000 militaires de rang et soldats qui sont, ou seront bientôt, des vétérans. À la requête du Gouverneur Général, l’Adjudant-chef Parent sert aussi en tant que membre du Conseil des Forces armées, ce qui lui fournit une occasion d’influencer la doctrine et les politiques au niveau stratégique.

En 1999, il est affecté en Égypte où il sert en tant que sergent-major d’une force multinationale défendant le Sinaï conformément aux accords de Camp David. Là, il désamorce des situations conflictuelles entre du personnel militaire de 14 pays différents à travers la médiation et la résolution de conflits.

Suite à sa retraite des Forces canadiennes en 2001, l’Adjudant-chef Parent joint le bureau de l’ombudsman de la Défense nationale et des Forces canadiennes où il assume des responsabilités croissantes, d’abord en tant qu’enquêteur et plus tard comme directeur des enquêtes et directeur de l’Équipe d’intervention spéciale de l’ombudsman.

Sa vaste expérience et son souci du détail l’amènent à être recruté par le bureau de l’ombudsman des vétérans en 2008 où il sert en tant que directeur des enquêtes jusqu’à sa nomination au poste d’ombudsman. Son expérience de travail avec Anciens Combattants Canada lui a permis d’acquérir une connaissance profonde des programmes, politiques et procédures reliées aux vétérans et à apprécier l’importance du mandat de l’ombudsman.

L’Adjudant-chef Parent est parfaitement bilingue et a voyagé en Europe, en Afrique, au Proche-Orient et en Amérique du Sud au nom des Forces canadiennes et de la Défense nationale.
M. Parent et sa femme demeurent maintenant à Gatineau, Québec. Ils ont trois fils, trois belles-filles et sept petits-enfants.

W.A. (Bill) Smith

Ombudsman
Province of Nova Scotia
Téléphone : 902-424-6780
William.A.Smith@novascotia.ca

Nora Farrell (ancienne présidente)

Ombudsperson
Ryerson University Office of the Ombudsman
63 Gould St Rm. 215/216
Toronto, Ontario
M5B 1E9
Téléphone : 416 979-5000 x 7451
Télécopieur : 416 979-5170
Courriel : nfarrell@ryerson.ca

Nora a travaillé dans plusieurs domaines liés à la fonction d’ombudsman : ombudsman pour l’Université Ryerson pendant huit ans; ombudsman pour la Canadian Franchise Association et l’International Franchise Association (à contrat) pendant quatre ans; gestionnaire d’enquêtes et règlement de plaines pour Ombudsman Ontario pendant cinq ans.

Nora a obtenu sa maîtrise en droit LL.M. en règlement extrajudiciaire de différents de la Osgoode Hall Law School de l’Université York et sa maîtrise en éducation M.Ed. en éducation des adultes de l’Université de la colombie-Britannique. Elle est actuellement aspirante au doctorat à la Osgoode Hall Law School. Nora possède également une formation et une expérience considérable en médiation et dans l’élaboration et la prestation de cours de formation sur la résolution de différends. Elle a travaillé à titre de bénévole dans le domaine de l’alphabétisation pendant plusieurs années, soit comme tutrice particulière et comme membre et présidente du conseil de la Fondation pour le Collège Frontière, un organisme national d’alphabétisation.

Secretariat

fco@intertaskconferences.com
Télécopieur : 613-236-2727

Haut de la page

Forum of Canadian Ombudsman-FR Forum of Canadian Ombudsman-FR