What is an Ombudsman/Ombudsperson?

What is an Ombudsman/Ombudsperson?

An Ombudsman/Ombudsperson assists with the fair and expeditious resolution of complaints in an impartial, confidential and independent manner. Services are free of charge and the Ombudsman/person is not a representative of the person raising the complaint or the organization being complained about. Depending on how it is has been established, Ombudsman/person roles include:

  • The use of informal resolutions for complaints using tools like mediation, negotiation and shuttle diplomacy.
  • The use of Inquiries and structured investigations to determine whether a complaint is founded along with the ability to make recommendations to correct unfair situations, both in individual cases and to address systemic issues.
  • Assistance with resolving complaints through advice, referral and discussion and by exploring available options.
  • Looking for trends and patterns in complaints to identify and make recommendations to address potential systemic issues and seek system-wide improvements to influence positive changes.

In Canada, ombudsman/person generally operate under three types of mandates:

Ombudsman/person established by provincial, territorial or federal legislation with strong powers of investigation and structural independence. [Example: provincial and territorial ombudsman/person, some federal ombudsman/person offices].

Ombudsman/person established by policy or terms of reference by both private and public sector organizations. They primarily use various forms of early resolution methods but may also have the power to investigate and the authority to publish annual and special reports. [Example: ombudsman/ombudspersons in universities and colleges, banks, utilities].

Ombudsman/person established by corporate or organizational policy or terms of reference which generally use only facilitative methods for assisting with the resolution of complaints. [Example: employee ombudsman for banks and some federal agencies].

The first Ombudsman role established in Canada was at Simon Fraser University located in Vancouver in 1965. The majority of provinces followed suit beginning in 1967 and by 1996 nine provinces, one territory and one federal government department had legislated Ombudsman offices in place for the purpose of general administrative oversight. During this time period many universities, colleges, corporations and various government departments and organizations also set up this unique and important role. It is important to recognize that in the first decade of the twenty-first century many new Ombudsman/person roles have been established by a wide variety of governments as well as private and public sector organizations.

Forum of Canadian Ombudsman Forum of Canadian Ombudsman

Qu’est-ce qu’un ombudsman?

Qu’est-ce qu’un ombudsman?

L’ombudsman aide à résoudre les plaintes le plus efficacement possible en poursuivant ce qui est juste; il respecte la confidentialité de toutes les personnes qui le consultent, et il agit de manière impartiale et indépendante. Ses services sont offerts gratuitement. L’ombudsman n’agit pas comme un représentant du plaignant ni de l’organisation qui est visée par la plainte. Dépendant de ses attributions, l’ombudsman peut jouer les rôles suivants :

  • Intervient de manière informelle pour faciliter la résolution des plaintes par la médiation, la négociation, ou encore en faisant une navette de communication entre les parties.
  • Mène des enquêtes formelles pour déterminer si une plainte est fondée et formule des recommandations pour corriger une injustice tant dans des dossiers individuels que pour des problèmes d’ordre systémique.
  • Facilite la résolution des plaintes en fournissant des conseils, en référant les plaignants aux bonnes sources, et en examinant des solutions possibles.
  • Examine les plaintes pour identifier des tendances et formuler des recommandations pour adresser des problèmes systémique. et contribue à l’amélioration des politiques et des pratiques dans les organisation.

Au Canada, les ombudsman travaillent sous l’un des trois types de mandats suivants:

Ombudsman ou personnes nommées par des lois provinciales, territoriales ou fédéral qui jouissent de grands pouvoirs d’enquête et qui travaillent dans une structure indépendante. ( Par exemple, les ombudsman des provinces ou territoires, et certains de juridiction fédérale)

Ombudsman ou personnes nommées en vertu d’une politique ou d’un document d’attributions dans des organisations du secteur privé ou public. Ils utilisent surtout les approches informelles de résolution des conflits mais peuvent également posséder des pouvoirs d’enquête et l’autorité de publier des rapports annuels ou spéciaux. (Par exemple, les ombudsman des collèges et universités, des banques, et des compagnies de service)

Ombudsman ou personnes nommées en vertu d’une politique interne d’attributions du mandat qui habituellement n’utilisent que les approches informelles de facilitation de la résolution des plaintes. (Par exemple, les ombudsman pour les employés des banques et certains dans des ministères fédéraux)

C’est à l’Université Simon Fraser de Vancouver que le premier bureau d’ombudsman a vu le jour en 1965. À partir de 1967 la plupart des provinces ont emboîté le pas, et en 1996, on comptait neuf provinces, un territoire et un ministère fédéral qui avaient adopté des lois nommant des ombudsman pour offrir ce recours à leurs décisions administratives. Pendant ce temps, plusieurs collège et universités et d’ autres ministères gouvernementaux et organisations ont établi des bureaux d’ombudsman. Il est intéressant de remarquer que durant la première décennie du 21ième siècle, plusieurs autres bureaux d’ombudsman ont vu le jour dans différents paliers de gouvernement et aussi dans des organisations des secteurs privé et public.

Forum of Canadian Ombudsman-FR Forum of Canadian Ombudsman-FR